Clifton Park Town Supervisor Phil Barrett is joined by Canal Corporation Director Brian Stratton, Capital Region Chamber VP Peter Bardunias and other Town and Byway officials to officially open the new recreational access to the Vischer Ferry Nature and Historic Preserve at historic Clute’s Dry Dock.
The ribbon cutting ceremony capped over thirty years of planning from the original idea of reconstructing a farmers bridge for access at this end of the Preserve.
Check out our newest recreational asset snd explore this remote eastern end of one of the Mohawk Towpath Byway’s historic places.
Also check out the new foot bridge constructed by Leo Coons as a part of his Eagle Scout Project. It bridges the sluice gate area of the dry dock and connects the Clute’s dry dock with the original 1825 Erie Canal Towpath.